Scott Quigg retains world title after draw
SCOTT Quigg drew his world title fight with Yoandris Salinas on Saturday night, meaning he keeps the WBA super bantamweight title he was previously given by default.
And the Bury boxer admitted after the fight at London’s 02 Arena that he was “gutted” not to have been given the decision.
The judges gave it as a majority draw. But as the 24-year-old Bury star went into the fight technically as the holder, he keeps the belt.
Quigg was never satisfied to have been handed the belt without winning it in the ring, saying in the lead-up to Saturday night’s fight that he would only be happy if he won a world title in the ring.
And he could hardly have come closer to winning this fight.
After his Cuban opponent looked comfortable and slick in the early rounds, Quigg gradually picked him apart until the Bury man was totally in the ascendancy in the last two rounds.
Quigg, trained by Joe Gallagher at Amir Khan’s Gloves Gym in Halliwell, Bolton, looked like he had timed the fight to perfection.
And it came as a surprise to many when he was not given the majority decision, not least himself.
“I believe I won the fight,” he said. “I’m gutted.
“Maybe I should have stepped it up a round earlier, but I couldn’t have kept going the way I did in the last five rounds if I’d put too much in earlier.”