ALEX Rodzoch set Farnworth on their way to victory in the second week of the Axford Bolton Cricket League Indoor Trophy.

He frustrated Westhoughton with figures of 1-12 from his three overs as the Bridgeman Park men restricted their opponents to 80-5 despite an impressive 43 not out from Kieron Paisley.

David Morris (27 not out) and Simon Booth (19no) steered Farnworth to victory for the loss of just two wickets.

The highest scorer of the day was Kearsley’s Pete Morris, but his 49 – almost half his side’s total – was not enough to prevent Heaton reaching this Sunday’s quarter-finals.

Josh McGreavey had a productive afternoon for the winners, top scoring for his side and taking two stumpings.

Batting first, Heaton steadily built a sizeable total of 122 with McGreavey (27no), Gareth Carson (25), Chris Tye (19) and Alex Jones (15no) sharing the runs about.

Heaton’s fielding was impressive as four Kearsley players were run out. Mel Whittle was their next best batsman with 14.

Reigning champions Egerton progressed to the last eight in dramatic style, knocking out Bradshaw with the penultimate ball.

Bradley Yates (29) and Mike Hudson (28) got Bradshaw off to a flying start before excellent fielding by Egerton led to five runouts and Bradshaw were all out for 78.

Stuart Hornby (25no) and Declan Duddley (17) led Egerton to victory for the loss of two wickets.