A SPECIAL evening of celebration is being held to celebrate the extraordinary work of the women of Bolton.

The third annual Inspirational Women of Bolton Awards will take place on Friday.

Organisers received more than 90 nominations and judges had the difficult task of shortlisting finalists for each category.

A second panel of judges has been tasked with choosing the winners, who will be announced at a glamorous event at the University of Bolton. Celebrated broadcaster Gordon Burns will be master of ceremonies on the evening, which is supported by local businesses and organisations.

INSPIRE Awards Founder Gulnaz Brennan said: “INSPIRE Women Awards celebrate positive role models in our community, who have triumphed in adversity and many a times have gone beyond the call of duty.

“It’s heartening to see the huge support and community involvement for women awards.

“These awards celebrate women from all walks of life, across communities and cultures and are a melting pot of inspiring stories of exceptional women.”

Speakers on the evening will include Maura Jackson, director of Bolton Young People Housing Scheme, Shauna Morton, head of community investment at Bolton at Home and Sital Arjun-Raja, manager at House of Rajas.

Nominations in each category are

Community Leadership Award:

Christine L Fitton, Carole Marsden, Domina Nirere.

Contribution in Film Art & Media Award:

Samra Kala, Julie Lomax, Iram Sayeed.

Lifetime Achievement Award:

Sumati Desai MBE, Margaret Koppens, Carole Marsden, Madeline Murray.

Going the Extra Mile:

Ginny Allende, Shafina Iqbal, Trish Lindley, Jamilah Rashid.

Community Star Volunteer:

Jacqui Grady, Olwyn Holgate, Nilufar Patel.

Helping Hands Award:

Sumati Desai MBE, Nilufar Patel, Razaz Sateh.

Promoting Health & Well Being:

Angie Devi, Shafina Iqbal, Priya Narsai-Punam.

Women Together:

Melodramatics Community Theatre, Sukoon Group, Wonder Woman Group.

Women in Enterprise:

Mina Khan ( Just One Spice), Jan Sharrocks (Soapy Skin), Kym Wells (Gigglers Day Nursery)

Community Integration Award:

Wendy Handley, Maria Oprea, Jamilah Rashid, Farzandah Razzaq.

Women in Education:

Fatema Badat, Glynis Hallsworth, Shaheeda Kaduji

Senior Woman of the Year Award:

Mavis Bates, Jean Haslam, Olwyn Elizabeth Holgate, Margaret Koppens, Linda Marland, Sumati (Sue) Desai.

In addition there will be several winners announced on the night including the Popular Award voted by the public, Founder’s Award, ASCD Community-Builder Award, Bolton Interfaith Award and Woman of the Year Award.