AS the BSF Over-35s Football League season nears its conclusion, all league champions have now been decided, but two runner-up places are still up for grabs.

Barr Hill have won the top division, and Salford Victoria or Bamford Arms – who crashed to a 5-0 defeat at Irlam Steel on Sunday – each with two games to play, could claim second place.

Salford Victoria did not have a match having played the Sam Ashworth Trophy final on Wednesday when they beat the champions 4-2 after extra time.

Barr Hill secured the championship with a 3-2 win at Manor Vets for whom Leon Hamilton and Daniel Abucewicz scored, but Bryan Love, Paul Berry and Paul Cox won it for Barr Hill.

Radcliffe Old Boys A are champions of Division Two with an unassailable lead following a 3-1 win at Turton as Mark Fitton, Paul Walsh and Colin Doherty scored.

Old Boltonians and Heaton Vets played each other twice on Sunday and drew both games. Ashley Walsh and Clint Brearley scored for their respective sides in both games.

John Collings and Ferghal Smith scored the additional goals for Old Bolts in the second match while Austin Hurst and John Armour were on target for Heaton.

Dobbies A suffered a 7-0 home defeat by Hindley Town in which Stu Gaskell scored a hat-trick and Alan Hall, Warren Collier, Colin Ross and David Fashou were also on target.

The Division Three table is now complete with all teams having played 10 games.

Horwich St Mary’s Victoria rounded off with a 4-0 home win against third-placed Dobbies B to become champions on goal difference. Sammy Caldwell, Chris Richards, Michael Cowburn and James Chorlton scored.

Top two Horwich and Home Guard Failsworth have both won seven, drawn two and lost one, but Horwich take the title with a goal difference of 25 against 18 for Failsworth.

At the bottom of Division Three, Wigan Town beat Vulcan Walkden 5-3 to pull level on points but finish bottom because Vulcan’s goal difference is better by three.

Dean Ainscough scored two and his brother Darren, Rob Carey and Tony Joynt added one apiece.

Mark Morris and a Dan Wright double kept Vulcan off the bottom spot.

The Division Four championship was settled some time ago with Bolton Wyresdale champions and Radcliffe Old Boys B runners-up, however, third-placed Heaton Casuals finished with a flourish, beating Atherton Town thanks to a Chris Sutcliffe brace and one each by Daz Wilcox and Tony McCormack.

The one remaining game in Division Four is scheduled for next Sunday.


Sam Ashworth Trophy final: Salford Victoria 4 Barr Hill 2 (aet)

Division One: Salford Waggon 4 Irlam Steel 4, Irlam Steel 5 Bamford Arms 0, Manor Vets 2 Barr Hill 3.

Division Two: Hindley Town 3 Heaton Vets 0, Turton Vets 4 Dobbies A 4, Old Boltonians 1 Bolton Lads and Girls Club 0, Dobbies A 0 Hindley Town 7, Old Boltonians 1 Heaton Vets 1, Old Boltonians 3 Heaton Vets 3, Turton Vets 1 Radcliffe Old Boys A 3.

Division Three: Dobbies B 1 Home Guard Failsworth 2, Wigan Town 1 Horwich St Mary’s Victoria 8, Horwich St Mary’s Victoria 4 Dobbies B 0, Wigan Town 5 Vulcan Walkden Vets FC 3.

Division Four: Atherton Town 0 Heaton Casuals 4.