Fashion and homeware chain Matalan have reopened more than a dozen stores across the country - including their branch in Bolton - but with a number of strict health and safety measures.

Since all stores nationwide closed their doors nearly eight weeks ago - staff have been busy preparing for reopening, but with new features to ensure safe shopping.

What have Matalan said?

A spokesman from Matalan said: "Given the change in government guidance on 1st May to include Homeware as essential retail in England, we are now pleased to inform you that we are starting to reopen selected stores.

"Following rigorous in-store testing and consultation with industry bodies, our colleagues and our customers, we opened an initial 15 stores in England on Monday, May 18.

"These stores will operate with enhanced health and safety measures and be fully compliant with social distancing rules.

"All employees have been trained appropriately and will be provided with full PPE. We are very confident that these safety measures go above and beyond the guidance provided by the Government and Public Health England.

"We will initially be re-opening our spacious stores with large Homeware departments and a Click and Collect service.

"These stores are all located on out of town retail parks, with parking outside, enabling us to effectively adhere to social distancing guidelines."

'We look forward to welcoming customers back'

The Matalan spokesman added: "With our new safety measures in place, we are extremely happy to be back serving families across England, and look forward to welcoming our customers back into stores, and our colleagues returning from furlough.

"We are extremely grateful to all of our colleagues for their huge efforts in caring for our customers and the business, and to our customers for their continued loyalty to Matalan."

Here's the full list of stores that reopened on Monday, May 18. More branches are set to follow in the coming weeks:

  • Basildon
  • Bradford Green Gates
  • Bolton
  • Cortonwood
  • Darlington
  • Halifax
  • Leeds Halton
  • Luton
  • Milton Keynes
  • Osterley Park/Southall
  • Rotherham
  • Southport
  • Stockton
  • Truro
  • Walsall - North