ONE of Bolton's outstanding schools has been selected as a finalist in the country's top education awards.

St Peter's CE Primary School has been shortlisted in this year's prestigious Tes Schools Awards.

The school, rated outstanding by Ofsted, is in the running for Primary School of the Year.

The prestigious awards recognise and bring together the most outstanding individuals in education.

This year the coronavirus pandemic means the glittering ceremony can not be held, but the celebration ­ will still go ahead online.

The awards bring together the most outstanding individuals and institutions that the education sector has to offer at an annual glittering awards ceremony.

But this year, for the first time the awards will be celebrated online because of the current coronavirus pandemic.

The Bolton News:

Headteacher Lynn Williams said: "We are delighted to have been shortlisted for the TES Primary school of the year award.

"At St Peter’s the leadership team are relentless in the drive to innovate and improve, in order to ensure that all pupils succeed, regardless of their socio- economic background.

"Each day we aim to develop learners who recognise their own learning goals, aspirations and the role they play in determining their own destiny."

Tes editor Ann Mroz said: “It is always a highlight of the education calendar to see the best ideas and people lauded at the Tes Schools Awards.

"But this year, it felt more important than ever to run an event that showcased and celebrated the hard work that teachers and school staff do for children and their local community every single day.

"This has been one of the most difficult years in education, but – as ever – teachers continue to rise to the challenge.

"We had a record number of entries this year and the standard was very high, so all those shortlisted should be very proud: it's an extraordinary achievement to be on this shortlist."

"Sadly we cannot hold the awards night in person this year as we had planned. For the very first time, award winners will be announced at a virtual ceremony on Friday 13 November 2020.