Wanderers’ new reserve side is an exciting sign of the progress the club is making on and off the pitch.

Managed by Sam Hird, the side will feature a mix of experienced and younger players competing in the 2021/22 Central League.

Hird’s men kick-off the campaign with a league and cup double against north west neighbours Accrington Stanley.

Here’s everything you need to know about the season ahead.

Accrington Stanley 1-2 Wanderers

Accrington Stanley v Wanderers (Central League Cup)

  • Date: Tuesday, September 14
  • Venue: Eddie Davies Academy
  • KO: 1pm

Wanderers v Fleetwood Town

  • Date: Tuesday, October 12
  • Venue: TBC
  • KO: TBC

Preston North End v Wanderers

  • Date: Tuesday, October 26
  • Venue: TBC
  • KO: TBC

Wanderers v Burnley (Central League Cup)

  • Date: Tuesday, November 2
  • Venue: TBC
  • KO: TBC

Wanderers v Walsall

  • Date: Wednesday, November 10
  • Venue: TBC
  • KO: TBC

Rochdale v Wanderers (Central League Cup)

  • Date: Tuesday, November 16
  • Venue: TBC
  • KO: TBC

Huddersfield Town v Wanderers

  • Date: Wednesday, December 15
  • Venue: TBC
  • KO: TBC

Wanderers v Accrington Stanley

  • Date: Tuesday, January 11
  • Venue: TBC
  • KO: TBC

Fleetwood Town v Wanderers

  • Date: Tuesday, January 25
  • Venue: TBC
  • KO: TBC

Wanderers v Preston North End

  • Date: Tuesday, February 15
  • Venue: TBC
  • KO: TBC

Walsall v Wanderers

  • Date: Tuesday, March 1
  • Venue: TBC
  • KO: TBC

Wanderers v Huddersfield Town

  • Date: Tuesday, March 29
  • Venue: TBC
  • KO: TBC

Kick-off times are subject to change and venues will be confirmed in due course