A number of actors, artists and community leaders, including Dame Emma Thompson and Sir Ian McKellen, have signed a letter which looks to save Oldham Coliseum.

The letter, which has been signed by dozens of people, was published in The Stage, a theatre and performing arts publication, earlier this week.

The letter looks to save the famous Coliseum, which closed in April, and points to a report published this year, which stated the theatre is "not beyond repair".

Oldham Council responded to the results of this report by saying the Coliseum could not have been saved.

Plans to build a new theatre in Oldham town centre have been put forward, although those who have signed the letter say there are concerns of the design and facilities of the proposed theatre.

The survey carried out by independent surveyors Plann led the chairman of the Coliseum company's board and trustees Duncan Craig OBE to say "the building on Fairbottom Street is not beyond repair and with investment could be used again".

In response to this, many people are leading fresh calls to save the Coliseum by signing the letter, including:

Julie Hesmondhalgh, Ian Kershaw, Dame Sian Philips, Dame Vanessa Redgrave, Dame Emma Thompson, Greg Wise, Sir Derek Jacobi, Richard Clifford, Jim Broadbent, Imelda Staunton CBE, Jim Carter OBE, Dame Maureen Lipman, Christopher Eccleston, Maxine Peake, Brigit Forsyth, Sophie Thompson, Paul Hilton, Anastasia Hille, Sir Ian McKellen, Suranne Jones, Indira Varma, Siobhan Finneran, Lesley Sharp, Nicholas Gleaves, Jim Cartwright, Jonathan Harvey, Sue Johnston, Barbara Knox MBE, Rufus Norris, Sarah Frankcom, Dominic Cooke CBE, Matthew Warchus, Marianne Elliot OBE, Nick Sidi, Jason Watkins, Edward Fox, Emilia Fox, Freddie Fox, Joanna David, Matthew Dunster, Toby Jones, Barrie Rutter, Shobna Gulati DL, Amanda Holden, Sue Nicholls, Helen Worth MBE, Jimmi Harkishan, Sally Dynevor, Antony Cotton MBE, Mina Anwar, David Neilson, Tony Gardner, Sally Ann Matthews, Sue Devaney, Con O’Neill, Les Dennis, Carla Henry, Sally Carman, Joe Duttine, Nicola Stephenson, Noreen Kershaw, Lynda Rooke, Christine Bottomley, John Henshaw, Colin Snell, Andy Hay, Jane Hazlegrove, Isobel Middleton, Kevin McMonagle, Raz Shaw, Lawrence Till, Lindsay Williams, Kenneth Alan Taylor, Judith Barker, Esh Alladi, David Fleeshman, Sue Jenkins, Susan Twist, Joyce Branagh, Grant Archer, Rebekkah Harrison, Joe Alessi, Sushil Chudasama, Mark Chatterton, Naomi Radcliffe, Annie Wallace, Caroline Clegg, Clara Darcy, Carla Mendoca, Eric Potts, Rupert Hill, Jenny Platt

Those who have signed the letter say that the effort to save Oldham Coliseum is not over and that there remains a "resounding" call for a reimagined version of the theatre.