Damian Lewis and Guy Pearce star in ITV's espionage thriller series A Spy Among Friends which will be airing on the broadcaster soon.

It dramatises the true story of Nicholas Elliott (Lewis) and Kim Philby (Pearce), two British spies and lifelong friends.

Additionally, the series is based on the book of the same name by Ben Macintyre.

An official synopsis on the Radio Times website reads: "Philby was the most notorious British defector and Soviet double agent in history. This is a story of intimate duplicity; of loyalty, trust and treachery.

"Philby’s deeply personal betrayal, uncovered at the height of the Cold War, resulted in the gutting of British and American Intelligence."

The series was initially shown on ITVX at the end of last year, but will now be broadcast on live TV also.

A Spy Among Friends cast

  • Damian Lewis as Nicholas Elliott
  • Guy Pearce as Kim Philby
  • Anna Maxwell Martin as Lily Thomas
  • Stephen Kunken as James Jesus Angleton
  • Adrian Edmondson as Sir Roger Hollis
  • Gershwyn Eustache Jnr as Robert
  • Lucy Akhurst as Elizabeth Elliott
  • Anna Andresen as Aileen Philby
  • Anastasia Hille as Flore Solomon
  • Jennifer Marsala as Iris

When will A Spy Among Friends be on ITV?

The first episode set to be shown on ITV will air at 9pm on Sunday, July 9.

Following that the remaining five episodes will be shown at the same time in the corresponding weeks.