THE Bolton Wanderers Supporters’ Trust has confirmed it will not be holding a ballot process for positions on its board after receiving just five applicants.

Despite extending the registration process until July 4, just five of the 2,537-strong membership submitted a statement wishing to stand as a candidate.

That figure falls short of the number required to hold an election and so the five – Ian Bridge, Mike Smith, Maggie Tetlow, Terence Rigby and Daniel Izza – have now been accepted immediately as board members, in accordance with the published model rules.

The process has been undertaken by independent bodies, Electoral Reform Services and Supporters’ Direct.

An AGM is in the pipeline but the BWFCST board have agreed to answer questions from readers of The Bolton News to address any concerns members may have about the process or the future of the trust.

If you have a question to pose to the newly-formed board, please email and we will publish answers in the newspaper as soon as possible.