BURNDEN finished the traditional Langdale Christmas Pudding 10K race with four of the top five places in the F50 age group.

Ladies captain Gwen Kinloch won it in a time of 43mins 39secs, with Lyndsay Darbyshire second F50 in 44:04. Isaline Pollitt was fourth in the category with 46:05 and Anne Ferguson fifth in 46:50.

Paula Pilling was the seventh female finisher and fourth F40 in 42:44.

Rob Short was the first club member to finish in a quickfire 39:03, finishing 21st overall just ahead of Marcus Taylor, 24th overall in 39:33.

Keith Thomas was second M60 in 43:24 and Tony Wall third M60 in 47:28. Mel Walker was second M70 in 50:47 with Phil Glassbrook third in the same category with his time of 55:51.

Other results: Ed Ashton (40:30), Mark Jackson (42:13), Gareth Doherty (42:51), Mark Butler (45:55), Ged Turner (46:01), Adrian Ashburn (47:22), Richard Blake (47:28), Martyn Pollitt (48:01), Lucille Corrigan (48:34), Jane Forrest (48:39), Colm O’Brien (50:07), Michael Caine (50:19), Don Nichol (50:46), Linda O’Byrne (51:22), Andrew Ostle (51:41), Elaine Roper (52:55), Sheila Christie (53:25), Paul Christie (53:27), Kath Page (54:17), Jackie Oakes (54:50), Don Taylor (55:11), Nadia Raza (56:08), Julie Riddle (57:34), Sarah Woodiwiss (57:49), Jackie Cairns (59:41), Joanne Darby (59:51), Louise Bentley (1:00:01), Debra Hennessey (1:01:39), Nia Bell (1:01:57), Sally Cottrill (1:02:01), Louise Wall (1:03:10), Rita Ledwards (1:04:32), Susan Wood (1:07:43), Dawn Evans (1:08:52), Fiona Ashton (1:09:17), Sandra Caine (1:10:07), Tracy Hindley (1:13:12), Johnny McGowan (1:27:03), Gillian McGowan (1:36:35), Anne Larkin (1:36:36).

Lee White and Andrew Duffy took part in the Stockport 10-Mile race at the weekend with White 57th overall in a strong field with a time of 1:03:19 and Duffy crossing the line in 1:15:19.

The final race of the Red Rose Cross Country Series at Rossendale clashed with the club race at Langdale so only Paul Duke and Steve Nolan were there to represent Burnden.

Duke finished in 39:45 and Nolan was fourth V55 a few seconds behind in 39:54.

Over the whole series, the club had three prize winners.

Nolan won the V55 category with a mean five points, Pollitt ended the series second F50 on eight points and Ferguson picked up second place in the F55 section with nine points.