RICARDO Santos and Eoin Doyle have been selected as part of the PFA’s League Two Team of the Year.

The Wanderers pair were selected by their peers for the representative team, which also includes three Cambridge United players, two Cheltenham Town players and single entries from Salford City, Newport County, Exeter City and Tranmere Rovers.

Santos played every minute for Bolton in League Two, helping them secure third spot, but had missed out a prize at the EFL awards.

The big defender was rewarded for his fine form at the University of Bolton Stadium this season with a 12-month extension to his contract, which now runs until the summer of 2023.

Doyle was one of Wanderers’ eye-catching signings last summer, joining the club on a free transfer from Swindon Town, who he had helped to promotion the previous season.

He finished up top scorer for the Whites with 19 goals, becoming the first Bolton player since Michael Ricketts in 2001 to score more than a dozen in a single campaign.

The Irishman has two years left to run on his current contract with Wanderers and told The Bolton News at the end of last season that he was looking forward to the step up in class next season.

“I honestly can’t wait,” he said. “Considering where the club came from, the momentum we gained, I honestly think we can push on in League One and challenge again.

“I’m looking forward to going again. We all need a bit of rest and relaxation after such an intense season but as soon as the fixtures come out we’ll be itching to get back to work again.”

The full PFA League Two team of the season: Vaclav Hladky (Salford City), Ben Tozer (Cheltenham Town), Kyle Knoyle (Cambridge United), Ricardo Santos (Wanderers), William Boyle (Cheltenham Town), Josh Sheehan (Newport County), Matt Jay (Exeter City), Wes Hoolahan (Cambridge United), Eoin Doyle (Wanderers), Paul Mullin (Cambridge United), James Vaughan (Tranmere Rovers).

The PFA awards will be broadcast on Sunday, June 6 at 7.30pm on the PFA’s social channels.

In addition to the PFA Player’s Player of the Year and PFA Young Player of the Year categories, the ceremony will honour footballing achievement through the PFA’s Merit Award.

Previous winners include Cristiano Ronaldo, Luis Suarez, Lucy Bronze and Mohamed Salah. The current holders are Manchester City’s Kevin de Bruyne and Chelsea’s Beth England.