Horwich RMI have won the Bolton Cricket League title for the first time since 1983 thank to a four-wicket win against Walkden.

Adeel Malik scored 43 and Mustafir Bashir 31 in Walkden’s 153 total, with Jack Berry taking 4-53. Dean Bell and Dan Naylor took Horwich to 74 before the first wicket fell, but then a further three wickets were lost for two runs shortly after Horwich reached three figures.

Two more wickets were taken leaving Horwich at a precarious 123-6, but Josh Little and Marcus Haydock steadied the innings and guided them to victory. Malik was Walkden’s most successful bowler with 3-37.

Westhoughton, in second place must have felt fairly confident as Farnworth Social Circle were reduced to 67-7, despite Ryan Ayres’ 34, but Chris Barrow (48no) helped Circle to a total of 134.

Matt Fanning took 3-26 and Adam Patel 3-62. Patel with 36 rescued Westhoughton from 45-8, but they eventually ended 41 runs adrift. Richard Dempster recorded figures of 5-23. The win left Circle in third place, with a Lancashire KO slot.

The final Lancs KO place was secured by Little Lever, whose victory against Farnworth took them above Walkden.

Tevyn Walcott made 60 in Farnworth’s 168, with Gavin Moriah 44 and Chris Baxendale 33. Asher Zaidi took 6-58 for Lever, then scored 39 in a six wicket win. Dane Hargreaves assisted with 30.

James Evans hit a century and Connor Hicklin a half century in an opening partnership of 154 for Lostock, who ended their innings on 211-6, Hashan Dumindu taking 4-35.

In reply, Tonge closed on 186-9 with Dumindu (68) and Adam Rodzoch (46) the main contributors with Simon Hanson (4-25) and Adam Syddall (4-68) taking the wickets.

Blackrod took the Association division title with eight wickets down and one ball remaining.

Batting first, Darcy Lever posted 199-8 with Chris Fenn (63) and Imran Sadiq (62) the main run makers - Matthew Ready taking 4-44.

Tush De Zoysa (38) got Blackrod off to a steady start but it was an unbeaten 29 from Danny Robinson that proved vital to help Blackrod seal the win and the title.

Adeel Baig’s 7-74 helped Eagley restrict Little Hulton to 182 with Kashi Raja (54), Adnan Ghaus (37) and Zameer Ansar (32) in the runs.

Louis Signe (89no) and James Richards (34) then set Eagley on their way to a five-wicket victory, and second place.

Atherton were dismissed for 117 - Thikshila De Silva (41) and Daniel Hughes (32) both contributing - while George Higham took 4-8 for Kearsley.

Jameel hit 37 but Kearsley were dismissed for 113 - De Silva taking 4-37 and Ellis Mort 3-14.