Wanderers boss Ian Evatt has climbed into the top 10 longest-serving managers in the Football League.

Matt Taylor’s recent move from Exeter to Rotherham sees the Bolton chief climb up the list. Taylor had spent more than four years in the hot seat at St James Park but opted to take on a new challenge in the Championship.

Evatt took charge at the UniBol in the summer of 2020 following Keith Hill’s departure, winning promotion from League Two in his first season in charge.

The current squad is vastly different from two years ago, with only Ricardo Santos and Gethin Jones still at the club.

Here are the nine other longest-serving managers across the Football League and the dates they took charge

Nathan Jones, Luton, May 2020

Jones returned to Kenilworth Road in May 2020 for a second spell in the dugout following a stint at Stoke City.

He led the Hatters to promotion to the third tier during his first spell in charge and returned with the club in the Championship.

Jones’ side finished sixth in the second tier last season but missed out on a trip to Wembley, losing out against Huddersfield in the play-offs.

Mark Bonner, Cambridge, March 2020

Bonner guided Cambridge to promotion to League One in his first season in charge after finishing second – a single point above Wanderers.

The U’s finished achieved a comfortable mid-table finish in their first campaign back in the third tier and currently sit in the top 10.

Gary Rowett, Millwall, October 2019

The Bolton News: Rowett is now seventh on the listRowett is now seventh on the list (Image: PA)

Rowett took charge at the Den following spells at Birmingham, Derby and Stoke among others, succeeding Neil Harris..

He guided the Lions to an eighth-place finish in the Championship during his first season in charge and also made the top 10 last term.

Matt Gray, Sutton, May 2019

Gray initially joined Sutton in a coaching role but was given the managerial position following Paul Doswell’s resignation.

He oversaw promotion into the Football League for the first time in the club’s history in 2021 and finished eighth last term, narrowly missing out on a play-off place.

Karl Robinson, Oxford, March 2018

Robinson got the nod at the Kassam Stadium following spells in the dugout at MK Dons and Charlton.

The U’s reached the play-off final in the Covid affected 2019/20 campaign but were beaten by Wycombe at Wembley.

Robinson’s side also earned a top six spot the following season but were knocked out by Blackpool at the semi-final stage.

Mark Robins, Coventry, March 2017

Robins returned to Coventry for a second spell in charge, having become popular among supporters during his initial tenure.

He has since led the club from League Two to the Championship, winning the play-offs in 2018 and then finishing as champions in 2020 on a points-per-game model.

Robins’ men also won the Papa Johns Trophy in 2017, overcoming Oxford 2-1 in the final at Wembley.

John Coleman, Accrington, September 2014

The Bolton News: Coleman has led Stanley from non-league to League OneColeman has led Stanley from non-league to League One (Image: PA)

Coleman is another example of an EFL manager returning to his former club and has so far spent 21 years at Accrington Stanley across both spells.

He initially led the Reds into the Football League in 2006 after a remarkable journey through the non-league pyramid.

Following spells at Rochdale, Southport and Sligo Rovers, Coleman returned to the Wham Stadium and assembled a squad which won the League Two title during the 2017/18 campaign.

Gareth Ainsworth, Wycombe, September 2012

Ainsworth took charge at Wycombe initially as player-manager following a period of financial issues at Adams Park.

He led the club from League Two to the Championship, winning promotion in 2018 after finishing third and again in 2020, this time via the play-offs after overcoming Oxford at Wembley.

But Ainsworth was unable to keep the Chairboys in the second tier and they narrowly missed out on an immediate return last season, losing against Sunderland in the League One play-off final.

Simon Weaver, Harrogate, May 2009

Weaver has spent a remarkable 13 years in the hot seat at Harrogate. Like Ainsworth, he also initially took charge as player-manager.

Weaver guided the Sulphurites to the Football League for the first time in their history in 2020, overcoming Notts County in the National League play-off final.

He has since managed to establish Harrogate as an established League Two side, avoiding relegation comfortably over the past couple of seasons.