Wanderers have been drawn in Group E alongside Salford and Stockport in next season’s EFL Trophy.

The Whites won the competition last term following a memorable 4-0 victory against Plymouth in the Wembley final.

Kyle Dempsey, Dion Charles, Elias Kachunga and Gethin Jones were all on target against the Pilgrims that day in front of nearly 80,000 supporters at the famous venue.

Ian Evatt’s men also overcame the likes of Portsmouth, Accrington and Manchester United Under-21s en route to the trophy.

They will now take on Stockport, who lost on penalties against Carlisle in the League Two play-off final, in the group stage.

Wanderers will also face Salford, who finished seventh in the fourth tier before coming up short against the Hatters in the semi-final.

The final spot in the group will be confirmed tomorrow (Thursday) and will be filled by one of the eight Under-21 sides in the northern section.

Everton, Liverpool, Leicester, Manchester City, Manchester United, Newcastle, Nottingham Forest and Wolves have all entered Under-21 sides for this season’s competition.

Here is a full list of the 2023/24 EFL Trophy groups so far


  • Group A – Barrow, Blackpool, Morecambe
  • Group B – Crewe, Port Vale, Wrexham
  • Group C – Accrington, Carlisle, Harrogate
  • Group D – Fleetwood, Tranmere, Wigan
  • Group E – Bolton, Salford, Stockport
  • Group F – Barnsley, Bradford, Grimsby
  • Group G – Derby, Lincoln, Notts County
  • Group H – Burton, Doncaster, Mansfield


  • Group A – Forest Green, Shrewsbury, Walsall
  • Group B – Charlton, Crawley, Sutton
  • Group C – Wimbledon, Stevenage, Wycombe
  • Group D – Cambridge, Colchester, Peterborough
  • Group E – Gillingham, Leyton Orient, Portsmouth
  • Group F – MK Dons, Northampton, Oxford
  • Group G – Exeter, Reading, Swindon
  • Group H – Bristol Rovers, Cheltenham, Newport


  • Everton
  • Liverpool
  • Leicester
  • Manchester City
  • Manchester United
  • Newcastle
  • Nottingham Forest
  • Wolves


  • Arsenal
  • Aston Villa
  • Brighton
  • Chelsea
  • Crystal Palace
  • Fulham
  • Tottenham
  • West Ham