Manchester United Under-21s join Wanderers, Stockport and Salford in Group E of the EFL Trophy next season.

The Whites overcame United's youngsters last season en route to the trophy, running out 4-0 winners thanks to goals from Dapo Afolayan, Aaron Morley, Amadou Bakayoko and Conor Bradley.

Shola Shoretire played that night and went on to join Bolton on loan during the second half of the campaign.

Ian Evatt’s men also beat the likes of Portsmouth and Accrington before recording a memorable 4-0 victory against Plymouth in the Wembley final.

Kyle Dempsey, Dion Charles, Elias Kachunga and Gethin Jones were all on target against the Pilgrims in front of nearly 80,000 supporters at the famous venue.

Salford and Stockport both finished in the League Two play-offs last season, with the latter losing on penalties against Carlisle in the final.

The other Under-21 sides in the northern section are Everton, Liverpool, Leicester, Manchester City, Newcastle, Nottingham Forest and Wolves.

Here is a full list of the EFL Trophy groups for the upcoming season


  • Group A – Barrow, Blackpool, Morecambe, Liverpool U21
  • Group B – Crewe, Port Vale, Wrexham, Newcastle U21
  • Group C – Accrington, Carlisle, Harrogate, Nottingham Forest U21
  • Group D – Fleetwood, Tranmere, Wigan, Leicester U21
  • Group E – Bolton, Salford, Stockport, Man United U21
  • Group F – Barnsley, Bradford, Grimsby, Man City U21
  • Group G – Derby, Lincoln, Notts County, Wolves U21
  • Group H – Burton, Doncaster, Mansfield, Everton U21


  • Group A – Forest Green, Shrewsbury, Walsall, Brighton U21
  • Group B – Charlton, Crawley, Sutton, Aston Villa U21
  • Group C – Wimbledon, Stevenage, Wycombe, Crystal Palace U21
  • Group D – Cambridge, Colchester, Peterborough, Tottenham U21,
  • Group E – Gillingham, Leyton Orient, Portsmouth, Fulham U21
  • Group F – MK Dons, Northampton, Oxford, Chelsea U21
  • Group G – Exeter, Reading, Swindon, Arsenal U21
  • Group H – Bristol Rovers, Cheltenham, Newport, West Ham U21