Burnden Road Runners has been named as England Athletics’ North West Club of the Year.

The awards are described by England Athletics as recognising the clubs and their efforts to make the sport accessible and enjoyable.

England Athletics states: “As a sport we are indebted to the volunteers that make athletics and running happen.

“The regional volunteer awards are organised in partnerships with regional councils and provide an opportunity to celebrate the fantastic contribution that athletics and running volunteers make to our sport.”

After submitting a successful bid for nomination on behalf of the club, chair Andy Dunleavy and secretary Sarah Brown - accompanied by Cheryl Dunleavy and Lawrence McDonald - attended the Regional Volunteer Awards evening at Ewood Park, in Blackburn, and were delighted when Burnden Road Runners was announced as the winner.

England Athletics were represented by Dan Isherwood and Nichola Skedgel, and by North West Regional Council members Shelby Williams, Marie Cartwright and Uyai Ikpatt.

The commendation for Burnden read: “This club believes a great welcome, inclusivity and a positive vibe enables it to thrive.

“This year the club has listened to and acted on members’ ideas. Simple, secure, accessible training routes were introduced, and has many inclusive modes, for example, muster runs, run and talk, tail walkers.

“This continues through to competition - achievements are recognised by an ‘effort’ virtual championship where achievements are celebrated independent of speed, age, or gender.

“For the more usual competitive opportunities, club coaches carefully planned adaptations to sessions to coincide with club competitions, which has led to enhanced personal performances at club level and beyond.

“Meeting seven out of seven Club Standards has increased awareness that safeguarding is everyone’s responsibility, and served to develop individuals the welfare officer, secretary, and chair each benefitting from the training and support resources to gain expertise in their area.

“With an eye for the future the club now fund race director training in addition to run leader courses. The new wellbeing group also now organise run and talk, within the beginner groups.

“North West Club of the Year is Burnden Road Runners.”

Andy Dunleavy collected the award on behalf of Burnden Road Runners and said: “All our run leaders and coaches support the committee and the club - we’re in it together and we run en masse!”

From providing a wide variety of safe and guided running sessions to being all inclusive and accessible, from providing funding for courses to being a positive hub for mental health support and encouraging members to run and talk and from being there to welcome everybody home from every run to welcoming every newcomer to running, Burnden Road Runners has proved what most members knew already - it is a special, unique and award-winning club and a welcoming family.

It was the runway for Lawrence McDonald this week - but it was no catwalk, rather the Runway Run 5K at Manchester Airport.

Though no timings were recorded, the runners raised money for Magic Breakfast, The Children’s Society and Medcare.

McDonald described it as a ‘perfect, flat route’ and absolutely loved it.

Radcliffe AC’s Half Marathon is a tough challenge but a glorious tour of the local trails in the Lancashire area.

Beginning from Sedgley Park Rugby Club, runners visit parts of the Irwell sculpture trail, the former Outwood Colliery, in Radcliffe, Outwood Trail, Philips Park and Prestwich Clough.

The 13 Arches of the race title is the listed 13 Arches viaduct at the centre of Philips Park.

Five Burndeners made an appearance with Andy Dunleavy first home and first MV65 in 1hr 44mins 36secs. Ian Pudge was next, crowned second MV50 in 1:54:05. Emma Walker was first Burnden lady in 2:30:09 and Gillian Morris followed minutes later in 2:34:15, with Nicola Halsall also home in 2:34:15. Luke Newell completed the six in 2:55:16.

There were also a number of club members competing at parkrun.

Bolton results: Mark Whittington 20:24 (fifth), Katherine Baines 25:51 (third lady), Tom Stratton 25:51, Neil Counsell 26:28, Lawrence McDonald 27:11, Vicki Hamer 27:43, Kathryn Berry 29:38, Richard Blake 30:02, Jenni Partington 30:18, Gareth Doherty 32:02, Marcus Chester 32:03, Simon Irving 32:12, Sarah Brown 32:38, Gemma Chapman 32:55, Steven Snape 33:19, Maggie Slamin 33:36, Teresa Riley 34:05, Howard Sparke 35:16, Mark Cannon 35:36, Joyce Tyldesley 36:54, Gillian McGowan 37:33, Sarah Jane Wells 38:12.

Results elsewhere: Heaton Park - Chris Worthington 20:39, Chris Greenall 26:43, Jennifer Entwistle 32:19; Rothwell - Simon Marland 23:50, Sue Marland 33:09; Worsley Woods - Carol Richardson 32:04; Cheadle Hulme - Nia Bell 36:34; Haigh Woodland - Colm O’Brien 24:36, Steven Bate 26:45, Jane Forrest 27:56; Millhouses - Paul Johnson 27:34; Alexandra, Moss Side - Lyall Mew 18:53, Michael Kermode 19:40, Adrian Ashburn 21:45; Peel - Ian Mann 35:55; Clarence - Tony Fulop 34:47.