Wanderers face a trip to Accrington Stanley or Lincoln City in the Bristol Street Motors Trophy round of 16.

The sides were due to meet on Tuesday night but that fixture was postponed after the pitch at the Wham Stadium was deemed unplayable. It has since been rearranged for Tuesday, December 12.

The winner will host Wanderers in the week commencing Monday, January 8 for a place in the last eight.

The draw was carried out live on Sky Sports News by Forest Green striker Troy Deeney and ex-Millwall boss Gary Rowett.

Ian Evatt’s men were guaranteed to face another side from the northern section, with the competition remaining regionalised at this stage.

Bolton beat Port Vale 2-0 at the Toughsheet Community Stadium in midweek, with Dion Charles and Carlos Mendes Gomes getting on the scoresheet either side of half time.

Dan Nlundulu also had a penalty saved by Jayson Leutwiler in the final stages. The striker’s initial effort went in but he was ordered to retake it by referee Matt Corlett.

Wanderers won at Accrington in the semi-final last season thanks to goals from Elias Kachunga and Aaron Morley.

They went on to lift the trophy after a memorable 4-0 victory against Plymouth in front of nearly 80,000 supporters at Wembley.

Here is the Bristol Street Motors trophy round of 16 draw in full


  • Derby County v Bradford City
  • Blackpool v Burton Albion
  • Accrington Stanley or Lincoln City v Bolton Wanderers
  • Doncaster Rovers v Wigan Athletic


  • Peterborough United v Crawley Town
  • Brighton & Hove Alvion U21 v Reading
  • Wycombe Wanderers v West Ham United U21
  • Portsmouth or AFC Wimbledon v Oxford United

Fixtures in the knockout rounds will go straight to penalties if the scores are level after 90 minutes up until the final, when extra time will be used if necessary.