There was a dramatic finale to this year’s Anthony Axford Indoor Cricket Trophy at Bolton School on Sunday as Astley B ridge won a bowl-out against Tonge.

For the first time in the history of this competition, which started in 1976, there was a tie in the final.

The scores were level and wickets lost were the same, so there was a bowl out which went to sudden death.

Astley Bridge had batted first and made 96-5, largely due to 34 from Irfan Puda, ably supported by Ishmal Patel, with 18, and Joe Ducker (17 not out). Pick of the bowlers for Tonge was Sojab Haji, with 1-17.

In reply, Tonge also made 96-5 with 41no from Dane Hargreaves, which earned him the man-of-the-match award.

Tonge need 14 off the last over to win and only managed 13 to level the scores.

Each team had to choose two players to bowl two overs each and at the end of this it was one wicket for each team.

It then became sudden death and Astley Bridge ran out the winner when Puda hit the wickets.

To get to the final, Bridge had to overcome Farnworth.

They batted first and were all out for 82, with Simon Booth taking 1-8 from his three overs. Top scorer for Astley Bridge was Ismal Patel, with 22.

In reply, Farnworth were going along nicely for the first six overs, having scored 41-2, when things went wrong. Trying to hit out and score, they were caught and were all out for 59 in the 10th over.

Earlier in the day, in the first semi -final, Atherton played Tonge. Atherton batted first and reached 64-5, with Lucas Charleson making 18 and Wayne Cook 17. Jack Smith was the pick of the Tonge bowlers, with 2-13 off his three overs.

In reply, Tonge ran out comfortable winners, scoring 65-1 - reaching their target in the 10th over. Hasib Patel retired on 26 and Sam Hardman was 19no.

Astley Bridge will now represent the North West Cricket League in the next stage of the national six-a-side competition.