THE EFL has confirmed the kick-off time of the League One play-off final at Wembley.

Two of Bolton Wanderers, Barnsley, Peterborough United and Oxford United will face off on May 18 for a place in the Championship next season.

And following discussions with television broadcasters, Sky Sports, and other relevant authorities, it has now been posted on the official EFL website that the game will kick-off at 4.15pm.

Many supporters have been waiting on confirmation so they can book travel and accommodation to the capital.

Wanderers hold a 3-1 advantage going into he home second leg against Barnsley, thanks to two goals from Dion Charles and one from Randell Williams at Oakwell on Friday night.

But they will be advised to know that over-turning a first-leg defeat is not uncommon in the League One play-offs, and has happened on 13 different occasions since they were launched in 1987.

Only four times – 1996, 1998, 2007 and 2023 has a side managed to come back from two or more goals down after the first leg, the most recent – and memorable – occasion being Sheffield Wednesday’s incredible comeback against Peterborough United last season.


1989 – Scarborough lost a 1-0 first-leg lead against Leyton Orient to lose the play-off 2-1 overall.

1992 – Barnet blew a 1-0 lead against Blackpool, losing 2-1 on aggregate.

1993 – Swansea City beat West Brom 2-1 in the first leg but lost second leg 2-0.

1996 – Blackpool threw away a 2-0 first leg lead, losing to Bradford City 3-2.

1998 – Bristol Rovers beat Northampton Town 3-1 away from home in first leg. Lost 3-0 in 2nd.

2000 – Stoke won first leg 3-2 but lost second against Gillingham 3-0.

2002 – Cardiff beat Stoke City 2-1 but lost second leg 2-0.

2006 – Huddersfield 1-0 up against Barnsley first leg but lost second leg 3-1 (2-3 on aggregate).

2007 – Nottingham Forest 2-0 winners against Yeovil. Lost the second leg 5-2.

2008 – Carlisle United beat Leeds 2-1, then lost second leg 2-0.

2011 – Peterborough lost 3-2 to MK Dons, then beat them 2-0 in second leg.

2013 – Yeovil overturned a 1-0 deficit against Sheffield United, winning second leg 2-0.

2023 – Sheffield Wednesday memorably overturned a 4-0 deficit against Peterborough to win 5-1 in the second leg and take the tie on penalties.