Rain affected many of the latest T20 matches in the Anthony Axford North West Cricket League last Friday.

Earby won the toss in their tie and elected to field as Barrowford posted a total of 106-9. Ather Waheed top scored with 28 and there was a useful 10th-wicket partnership of 25, with Jalal Khan making 20 not out, Jason Lockley took 4-20.

Earby were set a reduced target of 80 in 14 overs and they struggled to 49-8 with only Declan Harrison (12) making double figures, Waheed taking 3-9 to give Barrowford a 30-run win and their second against Championship opposition.

Barnoldswick won the toss and elected to bat against Padiham and were quickly reduced to 13-3, however the rest of the innings was dominated by Shazib Ali, who made 106 off just 56 deliveries, including 11 fours and eight sixes in a total of 154 all out. Zander Van Tonder took 3-38.

The Padiham reply got off to a bad start as they were reduced to 1-2. Opener Callum Clarke made 28 and Padiham were kept in the chase by Van Toner, who made 60 off just 32 deliveries, including six fours and three sixes. In a tense finish, Padiham needed 17 off the final over, and the result went to the final delivery with Barnoldswick getting home by just five runs. Hardik Adak was the pick of the bowlers, taking 3-28.

In a repeat of the previous Sunday’s Hamer Cup tie, Ribblesdale won the toss and elected to bat against Read. Michael Erlank and skipper Mack Spencer put on 70 for the third wicket, Erlank making 56 and Spencer 28. However, they collapsed from 105-2 to 121-8, mainly due to the bowling of Joe Halstead (3-14).

Read made a fast start and were 30-0 off 3.1 overs when the heavy rain came in and no further play was possible so the game was abandoned, each team taking one point each.

The group is finely balanced with two rounds of fixtures still to play. Unbeaten Read, Barrowford and Ribblesdale Wanderers lead the group and all have four points with Barrowford’s remaining fixtures being against their two co-leaders.

Salesbury batting first posted a good score of 157-5 against Feniscowles. Opener G Tarr made 77 off 44 deliveries and the score was boosted by Pete Richardson (18) and O Rawson (22no).

Feniscowles lost wickets on a regular basis, only Waqar Rafique with 32 making any significant contribution.

A late shower reduced the target to an improbable 142 off 18 overs and they ended well short on 86-8.

Oswaldtwistle made 105-9 in their 20 overs against Baxenden as Luke Sirianni top scored with 42. There were four wickets each for Jake Hargreaves (4-18) and Adma Masood (4-21). An unbeaten 10th-wicket partnership of 27 between James Clarke (12no) and Niall Heyes (10no) at least gave Oswaldtwistle something to bowl at.

Baxenden opener Blair Walsh made a quickfire 36. However, at 80-6, the result was in the balance before an unbeaten seventh-wicket partnership between Adam Masood (34no) and Harris Masood (10no) saw Baxenden home by four wickets with two overs to spare.

Cherry Tree made 109-9, Mickey Copeland top scoring with 24. Edward Burrow took 3-18 for Whalley who were set a reduced target of 67 off 12 overs. They reached it without losing a wicket with nine deliveries to spare. Stuart Crabtree scored 46no, and was given good support from Frankie Jackson, who made 17no.

Salesbury and Whalley are both unbeaten and head the group with five points each, with the winners of the clash between the two next week likely not only to qualify but also get a home quarter-final draw for topping the group.

Chasing Astley Bridge’s 122-8, Brinscall were set a target of 93 in 14 overs, but were dismissed for 62 with Alex Kok 3-3 and Krish Patel 4-11.

Blackrod needed 109 in 15 overs after Lostock totalled 141-5. A sum of 45 runs came from the first four overs, and Navon Paranavithana and Antonio Greenidge put on 89, but the run rate slowed dramatically and the innings ended on 97-2.

Ayez Tasawar struck 62 off just 39 balls in Eagley’s 125-4, before Tonge, chasing 114 from 17 over,s made 86-8, Harvey Seigne taking 3-24.

There is everything to play for in the group with each team having won one, lost one and had one abandoned.

In the remaining section, Little Lever and Farnworth lead the way with five points from three matches.

Dario Boyce hit a half-century in Walkden’s 129-9, with Liam Smith taking 4-16 for Farnworth. Smith then finished off a fine all-round performance with 64no in his side’s seven-wicket win.

Little Lever made 155-8, and Kearsley were reasonably well-placed at 89-2, but Nipun Gaikwad and Andy Flear, with four wickets apiece, started a slump that led them to be bowled out for 115.

Batting at number six, Jamine Bullen smashed an unbeaten 74 from 27 deliveries, taking Atherton to 150-4. Jameel Stuart then took Farnworth Social Circle to a four-wicket victory with 95no from 54 balls, including three consecutive boundaries from the first three deliveries of the last over.

Friday’s fixtures:- Ribblesdale Wanderers v Padiham, Earby v Barnoldswick, Read v Barrowford, Cherry Tree v Baxenden, Feniscowles v Oswaldtwistle Immanuel, Whalley v Salesbury, Blackrod v Astley Bridge, Lostock v Eagley, Little Lever v Farnworth SC, Atherton v Farnworth, Kearsley v Walkden.