Rarely can a single run have had such an impact as it did last Friday’s North West Cricket League T20 matches.

Chasing Lostock’s 132-4, following an opening partnership of 95 between Muhammad Suleman (66) and Sam Barlow, a century partnership between Hashan Dumindu (59) and Justin Gilliland left Tonge requiring two runs from five balls for victory.

But three wickets fell in three consecutive deliveries and the scores ended tied, Lostock victorious by virtue of losing fewer wickets.

This result left Lostock topping the group, a position that would have been otherwise occupied by Tonge has they scored the additional run. As it was they ended fourth in a tightly-packed group.

Madura Madushaka took 3-22 in Blackrod’s 136-8, then hit 63 runs but Brinscall’s innings subsided from 109-3 to 122-9 as Navod Paranavithana finished with 6-20. This result meant Blackrod qualify in second place, equal on five points with Eagley and Astley Bridge, but with a superior record in the head-to-heads and run rate.

In the remaining group match, Ayaz Tasawar scored 96 in a 139-run partnership with James Richards, setting Eagley on their way to 162-7. Richards then took 3-16 in Astley Bridge’s 103-9.

The final group was slightly more clear cut. Curtis Anderton took 4-17 as Atherton were restricted to 98-8, then Jake Wilde smashed 58 from 36 balls to give Little Lever a nine-wicket victory and top place.

Farnworth and Kearsley finished on seven points, one behind Lever, but Kearsley qualify as winner of Friday’s head-to-head. Jono Bird took 3-23 as Farnworth reached 121-9 then struck 43 in Kearsley’s seven-wicket win.

The performance of the day belonged to Jameel Stuart, whose 123 from 69 deliveries included eight sixes and nine fours, then he took 3-15 as Walkden totalled 121-9 chasing Farnworth Social Circle’s 181-3. Azan Riaz chipping in with 3-15.

Elsewhere, it was a situation of two from three, with Ribblesdale Wanderers, Barrowford and Read in the mix in their group.

Barrowford batted first and made 116-8. Aneeq Hassan dominated the innings making a run-a-ball 50, he got some support form Ulfat Ali 22. Michael Worth took 3-22.

In reply, sub professional Govind made 35, Mack Spencer 32 and Hammad Amin 30 not out as Ribblesdale got home with just five deliveries to spare to win the group.

Barnoldswick batted first and made 88-8, Jonny Beech top scoring with 33. In reply, Read found themselves 36-3. B Capell (29no) and Joe Halstead (30no) got them to their target with nine overs to spare to improve their play-cricket net nun rate.

However, with Read and Barrowford both ending on six points, the result of the head-to-head match between the two teams was the deciding factor and this was won by Barrowford.

In a dead rubber, Padiham scored 186-6, . Joseph Edgar (44) and Shivan Chaudhay (88) shining.

Earby’s reply was dominated by Raveen Yasas who made 111no as Earby got home with one over to spare.

Group Two went into the final round of fixtures with four of the teams in a position to qualify for the last eight..

Unbeaten Whalley posted a total of 89-8, before Feniscowles were reduced to 15-4 and 50-7. However, an unbeaten partnership of 40 for the eighth wicket between Mohammed Jameel (50no) and Joseph Callaghan (11no) got Feniscowles over the line with one over to spare. This left Whalley with seven points.

Oswaldtwistle were bowled out for just 54 before Cherry Tree reached their target in just 3.5 overs to end on seven points.

Baxenden got off to a quick start through Blare Walsh ho made 53 in a total of 112 all out. Josh Bristol ending the innings with four wickets in five balls including a hat-trick.

Salesbury looked to not only win the match but also win as quickly as possible to improve their run rate. Liam Parkinson 43no as they reached their target with four overs to spare to also finish on seven points.

The first consideration was the head-to-head results between the three teams on seven points.

Whalley finished top of the group as they had won their matches against both Salesbury and Cherry Tree.

The match between Cherry Tree and Salesbury was abandoned so Play Cricket net run rate decided who would go through as runners-up and that was Cherry.

Quarter-finals (tomorrow): Whalley v Barrowford, Ribblesdale Wanderers v Cherry Tree, Lostock v Kearsley, Little Lever v Blackrod.

n The draw for the Hamer Cup semi-finals, to take place on July 14, is:- Little Lever v Astley Bridge, Earby v Read.