THE battle to escape relegation from the Greater Manchester Cricket League Premier Division will go down to the final day of the season, after Egerton produced Saturday’s surprise result.

The fourth-bottom side won at league leaders Flixton, beating the prospective champions by 76 runs.

After being put in to bat, Egerton set their hosts a fairly modest target after captain Will Halton went first ball, Mahela Udawatte (eight) and Matt Parkinson (four) following soon after.

Wicketkeeper Dan Partington rescued the innings though, coming in with his side struggling at 25-3, and he and opener Marcus Pratt, who made 35, added 68 runs to help the visitors reach 179-9 from their 50 overs.

Partington then took three catches as Flixton’s reply fell well short, Johan Wessels top scoring with 23 as the leaders were dismissed for 103 inside 36 overs with Amal Dalugoda taking 4-17.

Despite victory Egerton stay in the drop zone, two points behind Prestwich, who won at Bamford Fieldhouse.

Edgworth’s hopes of promotion from Division One suffered a setback with defeat at home to Dukinfield.

The visitors reached 250-6 from their 50 overs, Yohan De Silva scoring 136 for Dukky and Liam Watkinson taking 3-60.

The Edgworth reply started well, with 70 on the board before the first wicket fell, Brett Ernst departing for 49. But with Joel Morton accounting for five wickets they ended 11 runs short on 239-9.

Division Two leaders Astley and Tyldesley strolled to a nine-wicket victory at home to bottom side Hindley St Peter’s.

The visitors chose to bat first but Nathan McDonnell (4-17) and Chris Ware (2-38) ripped through the top six with only 26 on the board.

Hindley eventually made an all-out 61 and that was never going to be enough to defend, and A&T took less than 13 overs to get home with just one wicket down.


Premier Division: Flixton 103 Egerton 179-9, Egerton won by 76 runs.

Division One: Edgworth 239-9 Dukinfield 250-6, Dukinfield won by 11 runs.

Division Two: Astley & Tyldesley 63-1 Hindley St Peter’s 61, Astley & Tyldesley won by 9 wkts.