A DISAPPOINTING performance with the bat saw Egerton lose at home to Flixton C&SC in the Premier Division, failing to chase down 199.

Flixton opener Ryan Carruthers scored 55 and Marlon Welcome-Goodman 68 as the visitors closed on 198 all out.

Will Halton took 4-53, with Janith Liyanage, Syd De Silva and Olly Hotchis chipping in with two wickets apiece.

But in Egerton’s reply only De Silva (11), Dan Partington (20) and Hotchis (11) reached double figures, with 28 extras helping their cause, and they were bowled out for 114.

In Division 1B, Edgworth failed to defend their first-innings total of 182 as Westleigh reached their target with three wickets in hand.

Edgworth’s top three all made starts, with Alex Hughes hitting 38, Christian Smith 33 and Kieran Shields 32.

But despite the hosts reaching 76 before the first wicket fell, they struggled to an all-out total of 182 as Westleigh’s Jameel Stuart took 5-45.

Stuart, Westleigh’s overseas amateur, then hit the lion’s share of their reply, scoring 107 as they made their target with seven wickets down.

There were three wickets each for Josh Fallows and Umega Chathuranga but the defeat saw Edgworth slip 13 points behind leaders Astley & Tyldesley, who strolled to a seven-wicket victory at home to Thornham.

Taking four wickets, Chathura Randunu led with the ball as A&T dismissed their visitors for just 82, Jimmy Cutt, Chris Ware and Paul Bennett sharing the other wickets around.

James Loveridge’s 34 at the top of the order then set up a successful run chase, with Randunu and Cutt seeing them home for the loss of three wickets inside 19 overs.


BCL Premiership Division: Bradshaw 255-5 Horwich RMI 248, Bradshaw won by 7 runs.

Adlington 114 Kearsley 99, Adlington won by 15 runs.

Lostock 194-7 Little Lever 189-9, Lostock won by 5 runs.

Farnworth Social Circle 157 Walkden 158-6, Walkden won by 4 wkts.

Farnworth 257-7 Westhoughton 198, Farnworth won by 52 runs.

Association Division: Eagley 173 Blackrod 159-9, Eagley won by 14 runs.

Atherton 249-8 Golborne 109-9, Atherton won by 140 runs.

Daisy Hill 152 Heaton 157-6, Heaton won by 4 wkts.

Darcy Lever 144 Little Hulton 149-3, Little Hulton won by 7 wkts.

Astley Bridge 163 Tonge 129, Astley Bridge won by 34 runs.


Premier Division: Flixton C&SC 198 Egerton 114, Flixton C&SC won by 84 runs.

Division 1B: Thornham 82 Astley & Tyldesley 86-3, Astley & Tyldesley won by 7 wkts.

Edgworth 182 Westleigh 183-7, Westleigh won by 3 wkts.