IN the second round of the Bolton and District Table Tennis League’s Brian Gittins Cup for teams in the top two tiers, Ladybridge A got the better of Premier division rivals Wharton 251.5-315.

Division One’s Burning Desire had a 100.5 start but lost to the Premier’s Ramsbottom A 386-337.5.

In all Division One ties, Heaton Cricket Club A beat Hilton A 453.5-397, while Wigan TTC beat Meadow Ben A 377-351.5 despite Meadow having a 50.5 start.

A one-man Hilton D from Division One had no chance against Polonia Club A from the same division, losing 426.5-108.

There were also three walkovers – Little Lever Cricket Club A gave the match to Flixton Cricket Club A, Hilton B gave it away to Radcliffe Cricket Club and Wingates put Farnworth Social Circle A into the next round.

In the George Yates Trophy for Division Two and Three teams, Division Two’s Bolton TTC only just ran out winners against Division Three’s Farnworth Social Circle C 340-335.5 despite Farnworth’s 29.5 start.against Ladybridge B from the same division.

Polonia Club C, from Division Three, had a 96.5 start but were unable to capitalise fully as Meadow Ben B, from Division Two, won 388-345.5.

Albany from Division Three also had a large 76.5 start but were beaten by Saint Paul’s Peel from Division Two 394-264.5.

Division Three had one more week of league matches to fit in alongside cup matches.

Farnworth Social Circle C moved into top place after a 27-2 hammering of Hilton H, displacing a weakened Meadow Hill A who slipped top second after going down 17-16 to Albany despite a resisting nine from John Nuttall.

Meadow Ben C and D are now in third and fourth place.

The C team had a 25-6 win against juniors Hilton I with nines from Jack Berry and Ian Wheeldon and the D team had a 23-13 victory over Ladybridge C with nines from Neil Cowburn and Phillip Calvert.

Farnworth Social Circle D pipped Hilton G 17-16 despite a resisting nine from Dimitar Petrov, while fifth-placed Polonia Club C won 26-4 against bottom-placed Meadow Hill B with nines from Henryk Michalowski and Karolina Mucha.