BURNDEN’S magnificent eight dominated the Lostock 6 road race on Sunday.

The club scored eight age-group victories as 57 club members were among the 430 finishers at the popular event.

Steve Nolan was first V55, 15th overall, in 36mins 16secs, with Paul Duke 17th overall and first V40 in 36:20, Andy Dunleavy first V60 in 39:10 and Phil Glassbrook first V70 in 55:43.

Burnden took the top three places in the V60 group with Keith Thomas second in 42:10 and Tony Wall third in 42:40.

In the women’s race, Liz McLellan was the first female Burnden runner to finish, fourth overall and taking top spot in the F45 category. Mumtaz Patel was fourth in the same category in a time of 44:17.

Sarah Watton was first Female Senior in 41:25, Lyndsay Darbyshire first F50 in 43:10 and Anne Ferguson first F60 in 44:21.

Vicki Hamer (46:20) and Katie Wells (47:43) made it a one, two, three clean sweep in the F Senior section.

Kate Ellis was third F55 in 45:11 and Karen Smith fourth F40 in 49:51 to complete the ladies’ successes.

Jonathan Sangster was the fastest club member, finishing 13th overall in 35:47.

Richard Pollitt was second V40 in 38:55 and Ed Ashton fourth V55 in 38:50.

Other results:

Lee White (37:14), Gareth Doherty (41:13), Simon Marland (41:47), Steven Bate (42:47), Marcus Hamer (43:08), Adrian Ashburn (43:48), Ged Turner (44:59), Mike Caine (45:29), Tim Taylor (46:33), Tony Woodiwiss (47:03), Linda O’Byrne (47:57), Lawrence McDonald (49:25), Chris Greenall (49:47), Kris Worsley (49:54), Elaine Roper (50:23), Gregg Beardwell (51:17), Craig Philpot (51:42), Emma Walker (52:10), Lynsey Kelly (52:43), Sheila Christie (52:53), Mark Davis (53:05), Louise Wall (54:57), Liz Hopley (55:46), Howard Sparke (56:49), Kerry Stevenson (57:44), Nia Bell (58:16), John Egan (59:50), Debra Hennessey (1:00:52), Diane Morrison (1:01:09), Fiona Ashton (1:01:11), Diane Leatherbarrow (1:01:11), Janine Taylor (1:03:17), Cheryl Dunleavy (1:03:50), Sarah Woodiwiss (1:05:19), Sandra Caine (1:06:17), Jen Forkin (1:08:00), Shirley Robinson (1:07:10), Peter Whiteside (1:20:15), Gillian McGowan (1:20:17).

In the team standings at the event, Liz McLellan, Sarah Watton and Lyndsay Darbyshire earned Burnden second place with Mumtaz Patel, Anne Ferguson and Kate Ellis combining for third spot.

Jonathan Sangster, Steve Nolan and Paul Duke’s times gave the men third place.

Sangster was also in action the day before, along with Keith Thomas and Chris Greenall, at the Saucony National Cross Country Championships around Harewood House, Leeds.

Sangster led the trio around the 12k course in 48:54, followed by Thomas in 54:39 and Greenall in 65:01.

Shay Walker was 11th overall in the Terry Nortley 10-Mile race at Radcliffe, crossing the line second V45 in 1:03:50.

Mark Jackson completed his 12th marathon at the Slaithwaite Slog 26.2-miler near Huddersfield, finishing in 19th place with a time of 4:14:51.

David Morrison travelled to Ilkley for the annual fell race, a tough 8k event which he covered in 1:16:13.