CAMPAIGNERS living by an accident blackspot are celebrating following the announcement that £16,000 will be spent making the dangerous junction safer.

More than 1,000 people signed a petition calling on transport bosses to take action at the junction of Thicketford Road and Crompton Way, in Tonge Fold, to stop crashes by speeding cars.

Now Bolton Council has pledged to install a new pedestrian rail around the junction, a new pedestrian island and a driver “feedback” sign, which will show motorists how quickly they are travelling.

Thicketford Road resident Stella Wright spearheaded the petition after a drunk- driver crashed into the front wall of her house last summer.

The 36-year-old said she was thrilled the petition, which was handed into the Mayor of Bolton, Cllr Colin Shaw, several months ago, will mean the road is made safer.

She said: “It’s brilliant news. The petition meant walking to a lot of shops, speaking to lots of people and walking for miles to get as many names as I could.

"The junction is deadly. My main concern was for my children, but also schoolchildren and passers-by, as it’s a busy route for families walking to school and with their dogs.

“Drivers come quite fast around the corner and up the hill — I’m shocked there weren’t any measures there in the first place.”

Tonge with the Haulgh councillor Nick Peel said he was pleased that money for the improvements was sourced through the area forum budget.

He added: “Money is tight but this is a good scheme that was flagged up by local residents, so we’re very happy to provide the funding, which will make a big difference and make a busy road a lot safer.”

Over the past 12 years Ms Wright’s house has been hit by careless drivers three times.

Each time the driver was not insured, so she had to repair the damage through her own insurance.

  • Cllr Peel is standing for re-election in the local elections tomorrow. He is up against Derek Fisher, for UKIP, Paul Harasiwka for the Liberal Democrats, Eric Hyland for Left Unity, Zoe Kirk-Robinson for the Conservatives, Gafsa Patel for the Greens, and Dorothee Sayers for BNP.