DAVID Wheater and Mark Beevers have been voted in the PFA Team of the Year for League One.

The Wanderers centre-halves have been key players at both ends of the pitch for Wanderers this season, contributing 14 goals between them and combining for most of the season in the division's tightest defence.

Voted by PFA members from 100 different clubs - Premier League to Conference - a commemorative award will be given to the players in a gala dinner this coming Sunday in London.

Phil Parkinson's Whites are on course to post their best-ever defensive figures over a 46-game season.

Jimmy Armfield's promotion-winning team in 1972/73 conceded just 39 goals en route to the title - which is three more than the modern day Whites, with two games left against Port Vale and Peterborough.

The PFA League One team in full: Goalkeeper: Simon Moore (Sheffield United). Defenders: Kieron Freeman (Sheffield United), Mark Beevers (Bolton Wanderers), David Wheater (Bolton Wanderers), James Meredith (Bradford City). Midfielders: Mark Duffy (Sheffield United), John Fleck (Sheffield United), Josh Morris (Scunthorpe United), Erhun Oztumer (Walsall). Forwards: Billy Sharp (Sheffield United), James Vaughan (Bury).